Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{November 26, 2009}   Even a Volunteer Manager Volunteers

What better day than Thanksgiving then to share a story about volunteering! Great Volunteer Managers area Great because they are volunteers themselves. They are out there making a difference on their own, feeling the pulse of the people, finding their interests and sharing their time and resources.

I remember a few years back, I decided that during the Thanksgiving holiday, I’d make pumpkin pies. I’m not talking one or two, I’m talking Henry Ford Assembly line of pies~ enough to rival Sarah Lee herself! I baked pies for me,  the domestic violence shelter, the homeless shelter, a couple churches serving Thanksgiving dinner, and some mini pies for the Nursing home where my uncle would be living as his Alzheimer’s had become more and more difficult for my Aunt to have him at home.

After hours of preparation and baking, the pies were done, and they looked beautiful! I delivered them to their destinations and the last place I went to was my Aunt and Uncle’s house so I could sit and visit and bask in my baking glory. My uncle was in his leather chair and I sat with him for a bit while my Aunt cut the pie onto her china dishes. She served me and she sat and took one bite and SPIT IT OUT!

“What’s wrong???” I blurted out, startling my uncle from his snooze…          “It’s just a little bland..that’s all”, she quickly grabbed the china plates and went in to the kitchen, cinnamon, ginger, cloves…all came tumbling out of her cabinet. She scooped out the entire pie into a bowl, mixed in the spices and returned the mixture to the crust with a little spoonful to taste…             “Ahhh! There we go…Perfect!”. As if nothing happened we finished our pie and our visit and I went home.

When I came into my kitchen, pushed back by the mixing bowls was a mixing bowl full of the spices! I had left it out of ALL the pies! That moment, I realized ALL the people who were eating my pies!!! My BLAND, TASTELESS PIES! I was mortified….and then the Thank You Cards started rolling in over the next week…

“Thank You for taking the time to make us such a delicious dessert.”

“Just like my Gramma used to make”

“It was so thoughtful for you to think of us during the tough time we are going through…”

Kindness must be a spice of its own and even in abundance, you can never have too much. It’s the efforts that we give and the memories of helping others that we cherish.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
