Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{November 30, 2010}   Sneaking lunch~

I have a volunteer, our manager of our bookshop to be specific, who I dearly adore. It makes my day when I see him. He’s really given our bookshop and Friends of the Library a boost. Very dependable, very organized and very friendly.

My only concern is that I think he thinks I take a 4 hour lunch in my office. When he drops in anytime between the hours of 11 and 2, he always catches me having lunch. I’ve either just warmed up my meal, sat down at my desk to eat, am eating, just finished eating or washing my dishes at the kitchenette outside my office.

I’m a die hard brown bagger, but occassionally I grab something on the go, but I’ll always bring it to my desk to relax and refuel. It’s almost guaranteed that before that napkin hits my lap, they’ll be a rap tap tap on my door and in will come John.

My door is a glass door. Nice wood with very  large windows, so to give me and my chicken salad some privacy, I hung Russell Crowe and his Gladiator poster up on top and Pierre Garcon of the Indianapolis Colts on the bottom. I figured I’d let those two stand guard over my office long enough for me to savor my meal.

It took some convincing that I don’t take a 4 hour lunch to John, but that it was just a timing thing and after a year of practically seeing me eat at least 2-3 times a week, I know he knows it’s not so. It’s actually become a joke, he’ll even send me an email and at the end it will say “I hope you are enjoying your lunch”.

It’s no big deal~any day I’ll put my salad aside to talk with him, he’s a great guy and I appreciate what he does for us!

Sonya says:

Bex, anyone who works as hard as you do deserves a four-hour lunch! 😉



Leave a Reply

et cetera
