Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{December 2, 2010}   Spicing it up and getting the real answers

The past few months I have been inundated with what volunteers want from me. Since I work quite a bit with Community Service, Probation, Work Fare and Job Training, I get many many phone calls from community members that start off with “I need…” or “I have to…” . This is where you walk the fine line of volunteer management.

Do you accept volunteers to assist your organization to strengthen the community or do you accept volunteers to assist their personal goals and needs which in turn may help strengthen the community? True altruism is not dead, but you always wonder where lies the “What’s in it for me?” statement.

To help organize placement, one of my first questions is “Why?” I can almost always guarantee the good old, to-give-back answer, but with a little more digging, there’s always a probation or diversion hidden requirement  in there somewhere.

Today, as I got ready for work, there was a light dusting of snow on the ground and I stood in my closet looking at my very large shoe and boot collection. What did I feel like today? It’s been probably one of the easiest answers of the week. My  Spice Girl Boots, hands down.

In those boots it’s very easy to ask “Tell Me What You Want…What You Really Really Want…”

Leave a Reply

et cetera
