Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{December 3, 2010}   The “Art” of being a nice guy…

One of my favorite co workers is Charlie and he works in the Circulation Department. I don’t see  him that often, but we have a very unique relationship via his mail box. When we do see each other, we talk books. Being in and out of the Friends bookshop, Charlie would mention in passing to keep an eye out for a certain book here and there. Being the person that I am, with a memory like an elephant (curse and blessing) I’d find it for him and secretly place it in his mailbox with notes on them.

All he had to do one week was mention the classics and I was on a mission. Into his box came Dracula, Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird, Catcher in the Rye, among so many others. We’d easily talk about Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, try to figure out what Holden in Catcher in the Rye was actually all about and when he mentioned he had just finished Great Gatsby and I mentioned how sad it was….he thought for a moment and casually said…”yeah…I guess you’re right, it was sad”. I showed him Atlas Shrugged and we just looked at each other and shook our heads “no”. Good book, tiny print!

In the summer I can always count on Charlie and his linen suits. I call him Sonny Crockett or Miami Vice, but with the 3 day scruff, and his perfect smile and handsome features, he can easily pull it off and chuckle it away. I’m not sure if Charlie volunteers, but what I am sure of is he’s a very very nice person. That’s an important thing still~ being nice. I think many of us are so busy or stressed or cynical of the world and each other that we forget to be nice.

Not only is Charlie nice, but he’s also very artistic and talented. So, to let Charlie know how much I appreciate him being nice and his art, I’ve added his link to my list along with one of my fave’s to this post.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

you are so right…being ‘nice’ is so important and for some people it comes naturally.theres a certain ‘feel good’ factor around these people.the relation you share with this friend is so special…and reminds me of one of my friends!
Loved your post!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
