Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{December 10, 2010}   George Bailey? or Mr. Potter?

It’s that time of year where “It’s a Wonderful Life” plays over and over on our tv’s and in our minds and hearts. Have you ever wondered what life would be like if you weren’t here? How one life effects so greatly another person’s  life?

In a nutshell, that’s what I think the movies about. He wants so many different things and has big dreams, but in actuality, he’s living the dream. Loving family, friends, sharing, caring, compassion, work, helping others, health, ups and downs.

What about Mr. Potters dreams? Does he even have any besides more, more, more? Alone, ill, bitter, angry.

When you do good for others, you do good for yourself. There are times where I feel that I give more than I get back. I’m done. I can’t do it anymore, I’m tapped out. When is it my turn? Then I sit and reflect on how I may have made a difference that might have caused a little ripple to provide hope, help, health, happiness and I take a deep breath and am patient a little longer. I do have more George Bailey’s in my life than I think. My life would be different if it weren’t for my George’s and in some cases not for the better.

So think about it…Are you a George Bailey or a Mr. Potter? By George I’m a George…and I’m glad I am.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
