Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{December 19, 2010}   Maggie Magdalena

I got a call a couple of years ago from Maggie. She wanted to see how old her daughter had to be to volunteer. At the time, she had to be at least 14. Her daughter was younger than that but they could more than welcome volunteer together as a mom and daughter team. She took me up on it right away.

When we would see each other, she always asked me how I felt, was concerned if I looked tired, wanted to make sure I wasn’t over doing it or too stressed out. I liked seeing her and catching up. A mom of 5 kids, in her early 30’s- she was the epitomy of  the modern mom on the go. Very attractive and on top of it.

After a while, I noticed that they had started to taper off on their volunteering, at first I thought, they were busy, but after a while of not signing in at all, I thought I better send out an email. In September, 2009 she was diagnosed with breast cancer and was starting treatment. We replied back and forth through email and felt positive that things would work out. A few months later, I received an email from her that the cancer had spread to her brain. On September 22, 2010 she passed away leaving 5 children, her youngest being 7.

I sit and wonder why do bad things happen to people who are good and giving. I liked her. I miss her.

The story of her shortened life is so sad, but how wonderful that among the things she no doubt left behind was the spirit of volunteering in her children.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
