Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{January 13, 2011}   Meals in with Thomas and Meals out with Roz…

So, I was sitting at my favorite cafe, Rosie’s, the other day with my new friend Roz (actually Ros …but I like her better with a “z” at the end…more sassy and brassy). She was having coffee and scones and I, of course, ordered the Lumberjack breakfast which included the Western Omelette with potatoes.

I’m somewhat of a regular at little ole Rosie’s as of late so our waiter came over to chat us up and asked us what our plans were for the rest of the day. Well, after we loaded ourselves up on Rosie’s delicious decaf, we were going to pick up some meals to deliver for Meals on Wheels. Roz and I both sit on the Meals on Wheels Board of Directors so for fun, I wanted to jump in on her regular route and deliver with her. It’s more fun when you go together and you get to chat and giggle and do good all at the same time.

Route 5 is country. Farms and farm houses, here and there, little apartments in town, and a house here and there. I was looking forward to it. Thomas brought me some butter for my biscuit and each time he came back, he wanted to know more and more about Meals on Wheels and what we were doing and how we were doing it? How long did it take?  Where do you go? How did we get involved?

As I mopped up my last crumb and Roz put away her peach scone and we drank the last of our decaf, we had Thomas in the bag and on board. He was going to give Meals on Wheels a call and go on his day off to deliver on Wednesdays.

What a natural progression…A waiter serving food to customers and being friendly and a nice young man serving food to those in their homes and being friendly. I think Thomas will be a perfect Meals on Wheels volunteer.

Please check the link to the right, it may be something you might want to do as well! I know Roz and I had a great time and so will you 🙂

 

 

 

Never expected to be part of this but was sure glad to see you wrote about Thomas. Great man and you’re absolutely right: He’ll be a wonderful Meals on Wheels volunteer!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
