Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{January 25, 2011}   Volunteers and Tatts…

I had a half-naked man in my office yesterday. He didn’t start off that way. On a cold January Monday morning, I usually don’t expect to start off my work day that way either, especially in a library setting….but one thing led to another and there he was…hiking up his pant legs and taking off his layers of sweatshirts and shirts…

As each layer was pealed off all I could say was..”Oh My”. I did happen to spew out a whoa Whoa WHoa WHOA!!! when being shown the lower back area…

We were talking tattoos initially and before you know it, it was a very  liberal game of show and tell. There was no sense of shyness involved either. When I thought one tattoo said “Library”, he made sure that I took a better look in that it said “Libra”.

Once he was clothed, we discussed how much they cost, how much they hurt, how much they didn’t hurt, where he got them from and what each meant. He also talked about his future tattoo goals. The sleeves, the shirt and the fill in and how to tie all the tatts together.

He told me about his friends who do tattoos out of their houses and garages. The different parlors he’s been too and where he plans on going next. He also told me, since I was cool and so nice and all that he could hook me up with as many tatts as I wanted.

It was an enticing notion and I thanked him for the offer. I was able to track back to why he was here and got him on a volunteer plan. He thanked me and before he left said I had good hair, long and dark like Kat Von D.

So in the words of Kat Von D. and others who enjoy tattoos…

“I am a canvas of my experiences, my story is etched in lines and shading, and you can read it on my arms, my legs, my shoulders, and my stomach.”

Leave a Reply

et cetera
