Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{February 3, 2011}   Diva Mom vs. Tiger Mother

Like any good diva, I do comparison diva creeping. I think I’ve cornered the market on library volunteer manager diva so my confidence is high in that area, but what about the other diva markets. The word diva entered the English language in the late 19th century and comes from the Italian word diva, a female deity.

I’d say Beyonce is a good diva. Very fashionable, a lady that knows what she wants and actually seems pretty grounded and nice. Then there’s Babs, Mariah and Whitney. I don’t really think Diva’s have to be singers. I just think diva’s have to be fashionable, good at what they do and confident in themselves and how they do it.

That’s why my favorite diva these days is Laura Bennett. Laura Bennett is from Bravo’s  Project Runway. She’s the tall red head mom of 6 kids that  was a finalist in season 3. She has a book out called “Didn’t I feed You Yesterday, a Mother’s Guide to Sanity in Stilettos” and it’s a very very good book. She’s the ultimate diva mom and I give her multiple snaps for doing it.

I wish more and more of my volunteer kids’ mom’s were like Laura. She’s the  opposite of the helicopter mom, doesn’t send a note with her kids to keep him or her away from the break room for fear of peanut allergies, doesn’t call every 20 minutes to check the status of their work or actually stay in the library to supervise from behind the stacks.

As much as I enjoyed reading Laura’s book these past iced-in days off of work, to be fair, I’ll probably get more from reading Amy Chua’s “Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother”.

Sigh…just from the titles…I already have a feeling which one seems to be more of the ‘fun’ diva…but we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
