Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{March 2, 2011}   Appointment Only

I finally had to do it. I had to place a sign on the door to the outreach suites that I can only see people by appointment only. That’s a big step for me. I love the walk in’s, I love the hustle and bustle of the office and I love being grand central station, but what’s pulling in lately has been Crazy Train and  I’ve had all I can STANZ I can’t STANZ no more! Ahh..Uch…uch…uch…uch (popeye impersonation).

The dust is settling from last week’s freak out of loss of jobs, benefits and livelihood and now I have to really buckle down and get some volunteers in here that are going to benefit the library. 

As I’ve said before, Volunteer Management walks a fine line high above the questions of “do we offer services to the community or do we accept the community to assist us in our day to day operations?”

Daily I get drained of the inundation of people who need need need. It’s time to circle our wagons and close our borders for a bit and take care of ourselves. I’m recruiting for people to help us directly…it’s “go” time….this is not a drill people!!!

It’s ok to be selfish a little bit, and I’m not feeling one bit bad about it…it’s time to help my co workers with their needs…they deserve it. Good things should happen to good people too.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
