Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{March 17, 2011}   more good kids being “bad”

What do kids do at a suburban library…? They drink monster drinks on the sly. There….its out… I told their secret. They come to the library after school, run over to the nearest CVS and buy monster drinks. And gulp them.

It’s a weird phenom. They aren’t allowed to have them at home so they sneak them. I used to sneak far worse back in the ’80’s. I must give off that cool old chic vibe because they like to come in and hang out and gulp their drinks, swish it around their mouths and let out an “ahhhh” after they swallow.

For the most part, it’s not like they are in the public areas downing their monsters. If they aren’t in my office, they are hiding out, almost ashamed that they are drinking one, but thrilled that they are getting away with it. And they are true monster drinks, I’ve witnessed it from lid cracking open to can crushing end. No tipping the flask, nothing added to them, just a true monster drink.

Most of these kids are ADHD, and they tell me so. I had a neighbor kid once who’s mom never gave him anything sweet for fear that he’d bounce off the walls. Then one day she found him on the kitchen floor, legs straddled around a 5lb sack of sugar eating fistfuls with both hands. In pure desperation, she came over and asked me what she should do…I said, for crying out loud…give the kid something sweet once in a while!

I’ve never had one, so I don’t know what the fascination is, they pooh pooh coffee so maybe it’s a generation thing. Oh well…I’ll continue to keep their secrets. Heck, they’ve signed the waiver and if it helps them be better volunteers and more productive…I’m all for it. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

et cetera
