Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{May 2, 2011}   watching the clock

I have a volunteer who you would think his task is watching the clock to see when his hour is up from volunteering. Today he gave me a 6 minute blow by blow of what time it was. It’s 12:34, it’s 12:40, it’s 12:46, it’s time to leave.

Since when have we become so stuck to time clocks when we work? I’m reading a book right now that says we should go to work as if we are millionaires and that we have chosen the job we are going to just because we want to. What a great perspective. When I started looking at my job like that, it really started to change things. It’s not that I don’t care, it’s just that I’m starting to care less…which is a little different than overall apathy.

If I had a million dollars but I’m choosing to come to work to do this job, what are the changes?  I don’t grudge as much, I don’t waste my time on others  as much, I do what tasks I want to do for that day and work on the others another day for when I’m in a better frame of mind. I’m not as stressful it seems, but I still feel the negative energy of others and that you can never rid yourself of  unfortunately.They can’t help it, they don’t have a million dollars like I do…

When my volunteer kept telling me the countdown, I just kept saying, yep~ six more minutes keep working…! I’m also tied to a time clock, but I’m not all obsessed with it like I was when I had to start clocking in and out. I’m just going to do what I’m going to do and keep plugging away at my work.

I have a million dollars…remember?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
