Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{May 12, 2011}   Please Respond, or I’ll Publicly Yell at You.

I went to a really weird meeting this morning. It’s not that the subject matter was weird, it actually was really good, it was the vibe I got for not RSVP-ing for it that was weird. Since I was coming from a side of town that basically is a parking lot from 7:30-8:45, I had arrived just after the meeting had started so I came in stealth style, slipped into a seat at the table at the back of the room and started to listen and engage in the panel discussion.

I actually had a few comments and was even asked several follow up questions regarding my comments. I kinda knew what I was talking about, which was empowering, but I wasn’t going to leap up to the front of the room and join the panel. I redirected it back up to the panel and resumed my note taking and my stealth like posture.

At the end of the meeting, I hung around a bit finishing up some conversations with my table and went over to the meeting coordinators and I presumed the organizations officers. Charging over to me like a Rhino, in all matching earrings, shirts, shoes, nails, and bright red lips was the treasurer of the organization.

“I’m the Treasure, who are you? You didn’t register.”

I introduced myself and said that no, I did not register because I just got verbal permission to come to the meeting yesterday.

“You needed to RSVP.”

I looked over at the catered breakfast overflowing with quiche, muffins, bacon, sausage and fruit. Obviously others did RSVP but did not come. I did everything I could to maintain my cool, but that didn’t last very long. I forced a fake smile and said…

“I’m sorry, who are you?”

“I’m the Treasurer.”

“Yes, I know that but what’s your name and what’s your organization that you work for outside of this group?”

She kinda softened up a bit and I saw her feathers starting to go back into place. She told me her first name and where she worked, and then asked for mine again.  I was pulling out my check book telling her my story about submitting my request and getting my approval and then I went in for the kill.

“I know you charge for breakfast, but I really only had a few pineapple chunks, but who do I make the check out to? I  missed your registration table, but I’m sticking around because I have every intention of paying for this meeting.”

“Oh…that’s silly, We’re  not going to charge you, just RSVP next time.”

Frankly, I highly doubt there will be a next time…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
