Library Diva's Guide to Volunteering…











{April 22, 2011}   Drip Drip Drop Little April Showers…

It’s Earth Day and my small little community is in a Flood Alert. The rain rain rain came down down down. I actually think I saw Pooh Bear bottom up floating by my office window in his Honey Jar.

I was bummed. Even our Earth Day people took to the high ground off the town square. They were supposed to be handing out tree saplings and splitting hostas. Maybe they did and I just missed them, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they took cover from the down pour. Gardeners and Earthy People are hearty folk, but even they are susceptible to the sniffle, then again, I’m sure they can find some sort of herb concoction to mend them.

I think I’m going to do some volunteer stuff with them this spring. They contacted me and are doing some clean ups around town. Now’s the time when you really notice litter and junk. Snow is gone, and leaves haven’t filled out the bushes yet so you can really see the plastic cups, straws, lids, and junk that strewn all over the place.

My co-worker the other day was so frustrated with our parking lot, I saw him out my window with a little grabber and bucket cleaning up the joint. He saw a need and went out there and took care of it.

If we all did that, wouldn’t it be a better place?



Leave a comment

et cetera